|Using history files
One of common synchronization problems is inability
to find out whether you have deleted file in one folder, or you
have added pair file in second folder. To solve this problem
Synchronize It! can create History files - these files
store list of files in folders after synchronization task is done.
Thus in next run we can read this list, compare it to current
folder content, and exactly know which files where modified,
deleted or added in each folder.
Creating history files
Synchronize It! will create history files for
all local folders automatically if you have selected appropriate
. You can also create these files
without running any synchronization by choosing menu item. You will be
prompted for folder path where to create log files.
History files are named synch.log and have
hidden attribute to not mess with your ordinal files.
Using history files has additional value of
detecting conflict files - these files have been modified on
both sides since last synchronization. So if you simply copy file
from one side to another you may lost your work. Such files are
highlighted with special color and have special icon in File List:
You should handle conflict files
carefully, probably by making manual merge with file comparison