Adanced Comparing of Folder

Post your new features ideas and suggestions here.

Adanced Comparing of Folder

Postby brahman » Tue Jun 30, 2009 11:24 am

Hi Igor,

I have two folders I use for software downloads: on the notebook side I do not want to have all files copied to it from my desktop for space reasons.

But when I download an updated version I delete the old version if I have it on the notebook.

So therefore I want SI to tell me: You have deleted this file on notebook, but it is still there on desktop, now delete it there too, while distinguishing this from the files which were there before and which I do not want to delete.

I was hoping that the history file feature could help me with this, but it does not show me the file, that was changed (deleted) on the notebook, but which is still there on desktop.

Would it be possible to mark these files, which were changed on one side but are still there on the other side in some way - maybe with a different color f.e.?

Also, it woud be nice to be able to select the use of history files in the advanced filters dialogue and to store its use case by case in sessions, so that history fies do not litter the entire hard drive, but are only used where necessary.

Thanks,

Brahman
brahman
 
Posts: 180
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2007 6:18 pm

Postby grigsoft » Fri Jul 03, 2009 10:03 am

In fact history file should solve this - if you delete file on one side, it will suggest deleting it on another too.

As for history files, for quite a long time I'm planning to make central history storage, so you will not see history files again.
grigsoft
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1661
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2003 7:37 pm

Postby brahman » Fri Jul 03, 2009 11:50 am

Yes, cool, it works ONLY when in Synchronize mode, I tried it in the other modes before, skipping Synchronize mode, that's why it did not work.

Maybe something to that extent should be mentioned in the help file section.

Regards,

Brahman
brahman
 
Posts: 180
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2007 6:18 pm

Postby Spitfire_ch » Mon Jul 06, 2009 9:37 pm

History file being the same as a package? Yes, I also noticed it's only working in synchronization mode, and only when the package is the target. But then, it's working flawlessly. Might be worth mentioning that in the help file - or even blocking the options that don't work properly (when using history files / packages).

Best regards
- spitfire
Spitfire_ch
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 9:11 am
Location: Basel, Switzerland


Return to Synchronize It! : Suggestions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest