Behaviour when creating a new PKG file

Post your bug reports here

Behaviour when creating a new PKG file

Postby gkiers » Tue Oct 28, 2008 10:34 am

The behaviour of Synchronise It! changed when a new PKG-file is created since July. The new behaviour is correct, but it causes problems with the storage capacity of my USB-stick if the bases to Synchronise are too big. That was not a problem with the older versions of Synchronise It! and that is why I like the old behaviour better.

After one creates a session which a package as TARGET, and one gives the command 'Synchronise' in the preview window it starts packing all files missing on the target system in the PKG-file. In my case (working with big bases to compare) my USB gets out of storage capacity.

With the old behaviour Synchronise It! seemed to pack all files destined for the target system, but for some reason, these files never made it to the PKG file in the case that the PKG-file did not yet exist on the USB. Synchronise It! only listed the files of the SOURCE system.

I thought that older behaviour to be very useful, as in my case it worked very well (although it needed an extra step: listing on the one system, comparing on the other system). After creating the listing I would move the USB to the target PC, and there I could compare which that system with the listing stored in the package file.

I work with bases that are big, and files out of synch are only a small part of the total bases.

Could this behaviour be optional? Synchronise It! asks the user if the new package file should be created, if it does not yet exist. That could be the moment that the option could be offered to synchronise the new PKG, or only create a listing of the source system.
gkiers
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2004 10:38 am
Location: Hungary

Postby grigsoft » Thu Oct 30, 2008 11:31 am

Did I understand you correctly - Synchronize It! creates new package and place all files there at once? When creating new package it should always just save files list there.
grigsoft
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1661
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2003 7:37 pm

Postby gkiers » Thu Oct 30, 2008 4:56 pm

Yes, that is what I experienced and what I wrote.

I was not sure what was the expected behaviour, but you confirmed now that the listing is the correct behaviour.

But I can no longer reproduce it! And the previous problem (thread 'Serious problem with Packages') has also disappeared.
:?

I don't understand it, as I had these problems I yesterday renamed the 1640-version and started working with an older version that I still found on my PC. Now to anwser your question I renamed the 1640-version back, so it is operational again and all works fine. I don't believe that would be the explanation, but what made it work, I don't know.

I even downloaded it again, works fine. Think that means you can focuss on Compare It! again...

Gerrit
gkiers
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2004 10:38 am
Location: Hungary

Postby Spitfire_ch » Mon Nov 03, 2008 12:48 am

gkiers wrote: Think that means you can focuss on Compare It! again...
Gerrit


Except the little bug when using a package as source, as described in Serious bug in comparing with package

I know, it can be avoided by always using the package as target, but this is not a very obvious thing to do. If people don't know about it and use it as source instead, the folders won't synchronize correctly. I know now, but other people may not. So, if ever you have time to work a bit on synchronize it!, it would be real nice if you could address this bug (or at least make it impossible for the users to choose the package as source).

Thank you very much :)

- spitfire
Spitfire_ch
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 9:11 am
Location: Basel, Switzerland

Postby gkiers » Mon Dec 01, 2008 9:30 am

Unfortunately, it does not work. Since my last posts I could not use Synchronize It! properly. I now finally wanted to perform that long required sync and after that start to use Synchronize It! on a daily basis again, but it messes up the packages. The LIST files still contain references to files from other sessions and also problems with the pathes remain as described.

I'll spend some time on this to make you understand the problem is there, it is persistent and needs repair.

g
gkiers
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2004 10:38 am
Location: Hungary

Postby gkiers » Mon Dec 01, 2008 10:17 am

I might have come to conclusions to soon, as I created a some test folders and ran some tests, and everything performs great with that.

Now I assume that some of my sessions point to the same packages and that causes the behaviour that i experienced. Mayba I even have to look for some other sort of corruption of my sessions and projects.

I'll check and add my findings here.
gkiers
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2004 10:38 am
Location: Hungary

Postby gkiers » Mon Dec 01, 2008 10:53 am

version 3.4.1640 unicode on WIN XP SP3

My set-up does not contain crossreferences between sources and target (packages). All sources have unique packages, neither on folder, subfolder or file level are there overlaps.

My first observation is that if I delete all sessions and projects, the ini file still contains all these sessions, and that might be a potential cause of corruption. I thought I'd rebuild the whole setup from scrath..

Another obseration: If the package does not exist, run the session pops up the question "package does not exist, do you want to create it?". If the session is part of a project this question does not pop up!
gkiers
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2004 10:38 am
Location: Hungary

Postby gkiers » Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:24 am

I try it and I am back where I started in my original thread 'Serious problem with Packages'

I checked for cross-references and I rebuild all sessions and the project into a new ini file, no solution:

All files of all packages are listed in the first Package, the other are fully empty, exept for a small string (22 bytes)

PK????????????????????

that seems to indicate that it is a zip format

As we talk about 2.1 Gb in 6000 file to synchronize, and the problem is not there in the small saple set I made, the size of this might be relevant, but there is no way I can send you this as something you might to look at

Please can you look into this, and suggest me how I can help in tracing the problem.
G
gkiers
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2004 10:38 am
Location: Hungary

Postby gkiers » Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:53 am

I found the problem and can reproduce it in a small set as well.

The problem is caused by an empty source folder.

I'll send everything to support@grigsoft.com

G
gkiers
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2004 10:38 am
Location: Hungary

Postby grigsoft » Tue Dec 02, 2008 7:47 am

Thank you for your efforts! unfortunately your attachments were cutted by your or my mailserver. Did you send exe file itself? Just describe the files, or send test folder structure.
grigsoft
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1661
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2003 7:37 pm

Postby gkiers » Tue Dec 02, 2008 9:03 am

I send it again, and renamed the zip files as even those are not allowed on my part. G
gkiers
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2004 10:38 am
Location: Hungary

Postby grigsoft » Wed Dec 03, 2008 2:04 pm

Thank you! I got it and will report when I will have a fix
grigsoft
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1661
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2003 7:37 pm

Postby gkiers » Thu Oct 01, 2009 1:07 pm

Hi Igor, did you have time to fix this one?
gkiers
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2004 10:38 am
Location: Hungary

Postby grigsoft » Sat Oct 03, 2009 2:37 pm

Hello,
Have you tried this - http://www.grigsoft.com/wndsyncbu.zip ? I'm not sure why didn't I report it here. And it was a long time ago so I don't even know if I have fixed that completely. At least, empty packages are not created.
grigsoft
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1661
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2003 7:37 pm

Postby gkiers » Thu Oct 08, 2009 9:06 am

Unfortunately no improvement with this version.
gkiers
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2004 10:38 am
Location: Hungary

Next

Return to Synchronize It! : Bug reports

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron