Windows 7 context menus

Post your bug reports here.
tirebiter
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 9:07 pm

Windows 7 context menus

Postby tirebiter » Mon May 24, 2010 9:10 pm

Hi,

Sorry if I'm covering old ground.

I downloaded the wincmpext.zip file and registered the wincmp3ext.dll file and I still can't see CompareIt in the Windows Explorer context menus. Is there something else I need to do?

Thanks in advance.

grigsoft
Site Admin
Posts: 1671
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2003 7:37 pm

Re: Windows 7 context menus

Postby grigsoft » Tue May 25, 2010 6:59 am

wincmp3ext.dll should be in same folder with wincmp3.exe. Is it true in your case?

tirebiter
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 9:07 pm

Re: Windows 7 context menus

Postby tirebiter » Tue May 25, 2010 1:21 pm

Yes, here's a partial list of the directory and the result of the register command.

-----
05/24/2010 03:29 PM <DIR> syntax
01/06/2005 01:15 PM 46,604 Turkish.dic
03/07/2009 07:56 PM 48,896 ukrainian.dic
05/24/2010 03:29 PM 4,287 unins000.dat
05/24/2010 03:29 PM 690,520 unins000.exe
05/24/2010 03:29 PM 10,498 unins000.msg
04/10/2009 04:56 PM 212,442 wincmp3.chm
04/11/2009 09:47 AM 1,971,640 wincmp3.exe
03/02/2010 11:06 AM 106,496 wincmp3ext.dll
-----
Image
-----

But I still don't see CompareIt in the Explorer's context menu.

Any ideas what could be wrong?

Thanks.

grigsoft
Site Admin
Posts: 1671
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2003 7:37 pm

Re: Windows 7 context menus

Postby grigsoft » Tue May 25, 2010 1:54 pm

I assume your Windows is not 64bit? And restart did not help?

tirebiter
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 9:07 pm

Re: Windows 7 context menus

Postby tirebiter » Tue May 25, 2010 2:58 pm

grigsoft wrote:I assume your Windows is not 64bit? And restart did not help?

Yes, it is a 64 bit Windows 7 Ultimate system. Restarting did not help.

grigsoft
Site Admin
Posts: 1671
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2003 7:37 pm

Re: Windows 7 context menus

Postby grigsoft » Tue May 25, 2010 3:05 pm

And you have used 64b shell ext version from subfolder?

tirebiter
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 9:07 pm

Re: Windows 7 context menus

Postby tirebiter » Tue May 25, 2010 4:30 pm

grigsoft wrote:And you have used 64b shell ext version from subfolder?

Duh, no.

For whatever reason, it took a couple of tries, but I finally got the 64 bit version registered and now it shows up in Explorer's context menu.

Thanks for the help.


Return to “Compare It: Bug reports”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest