Export and Import settings

Post your bug reports here.
JPG
Posts: 109
Joined: Tue May 23, 2006 7:06 am

Export and Import settings

Postby JPG » Wed Dec 30, 2009 7:37 pm

Hi,
I don't seem able to get this feature to work. Maybe I missed what it does. I expected it to save all the settings in the dialog, but as far as I can see this is not happening.
Jon

grigsoft
Site Admin
Posts: 1671
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2003 7:37 pm

Re: Export and Import settings

Postby grigsoft » Tue Jan 12, 2010 7:49 pm

This command should save settings into ther file or load settings from there. Doesn't this work?

JPG
Posts: 109
Joined: Tue May 23, 2006 7:06 am

Re: Export and Import settings

Postby JPG » Tue Jan 12, 2010 9:56 pm

grigsoft wrote:This command should save settings into ther file or load settings from there. Doesn't this work?



No I don't get this to work.
Do you test this on Vista, or is it only XP and below?
I understand that Vista is tricky to get it to work with these things.

Jon

grigsoft
Site Admin
Posts: 1671
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2003 7:37 pm

Re: Export and Import settings

Postby grigsoft » Wed Jan 13, 2010 7:57 pm

On Vista\W7 problem could arise only if you will try to save new file in "program files". Try to save to another location maybe.

JPG
Posts: 109
Joined: Tue May 23, 2006 7:06 am

Re: Export and Import settings

Postby JPG » Wed Jan 13, 2010 8:57 pm

Thanks I will try this suggestion.



I have tried as you suggested but the settings from the file are not loaded. I compared the saved file that was in a different location to the one that is in the Compare it! folder and there was a difference. When I manually copied the file from the saved location to overwrite the original in the compare it! folder, and started the program, the "saved" settings were loaded ok.
so to sum up. It saves but it does not load the settings from the load file, under "Export" of the options dialog.

Jon

grigsoft
Site Admin
Posts: 1671
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2003 7:37 pm

Re: Export and Import settings

Postby grigsoft » Tue Jan 19, 2010 3:25 pm

Yes, you are right, not all options are restored.


Return to “Compare It: Bug reports”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest